Dr. S. Nagarajan Memorial Awardee 2020

Dr. Sanjay Kumar Singh, Principal Scientist (Plant Breeding), ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research, Karnal is awarded Dr. S. Nagarajan Memorial Awardee 2020. He has an excellent academic record and did graduation and post-graduation from CSA University of Agriculture & Technology, Kanpur with Gold Medal and PhD in 1999 from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, UP. He is ARS (Plant Breeding), 1997 batch and presently he is working as Principal Scientist at ICAR- Indian Institute of Wheat & Barley Research, Karnal. Dr Singh has significant contribution in the field of wheat improvement by developing 21 CVRC released wheat varieties and 32 wheat genetic stocks for various yield component traits, resistance to biotic & abiotic stresses and quality traits. He has specialization in breeding wheat for tolerance to abiotic stresses and hybrid wheat development. Dr Singh has been associated in coordination activities under AICRP on Wheat & Barley since 1999 and is Zonal Coordinator for Peninsular Zone. He is also Nodal person for Breeder seed programme of the AICRP on Wheat & Barley.

Dr SK Singh has successfully handled more than 10 externally funded projects from CIMMYT, ACIAR, DBT, DFID and has more than 300 publications of international and national repute to his credit. He has received several awards and recognitions including ICAR- LBS Young Scientist Award, 2006; UP-CST Young Scientist Award, 2008; VS Mathur memorial Award, 2019 and member, Expert Working Group on ‘Adaption of wheat to abiotic stress’ and ‘Wheat Breeding strategies’ of the G-20 Wheat Initiative and visited Mexico, USA, France, Morocco and the Netherlands.