Proceedings of the SAWR meeting held on July 6, 2015 at IIWBR, Karnal

A meeting of the CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was convened on July 6, 2015 at 1200 Noon in the VS Mathur Hall, IIWBR, Karnal to discuss various issues like revisiting the CEC nominated and Editorial Board memberships, expansion of the Advisory Board, membership of prospective authors of articles to be carried in JWR and new membership drive *etc.* The meeting was chaired by Dr (Mrs) Indu Sharma, President of the society and the others who participated are listed below;

- 1. Dr Indu Sharma, President
- 2. Dr RK Gupta, Vice President
- 3. Dr RK Sharma, General Secretary
- 4. Dr Sindhu Sareen, Treasurer
- 5. Dr Rekha Malik, Joint Treasurer
- 6. Dr MS Saharan, Section Editor (PP)
- 7. Dr RS Chhokar, Section Editor (RM)
- 8. Dr Pradeep Sharma, Editor (Online)
- 9. Dr R Sendhil, Section Editor (SS)

After detailed deliberations the following recommendations/actions emerged.

- Regarding revisiting the nominated members whose contribution was not satisfactory, it
 was decided by the house that the election to CEC are due and it may be left for the next
 CEC to decide after its constitution.
- The contribution of some of the editorial board members was also not satisfactory and it
 was decided by the house that a letter may be sent to all the members to search for the
 volunteers who are willing to contribute and be on the EB and accordingly the EB may be
 reconstituted (Action: General Secretary).
- 3. The issue of expansion of the Advisory Board was discussed by the house in details and it was decided that Dr BS Dhillon, Vice Chancellor, PAU, Ludhiana and Dr SK Sharma, Ex Director, NBPGR and Ex-VC, HPKV, Palamapur may be approached to seek their consent by sending a request from the President SAWR (Action: President & General Secretary).
- 4. Regarding the membership of the prospective authors of articles to be carried by the JWR, it was decided after thorough deliberations that all the authors must be the members of the Society but we may give relaxation to persons who are retired (Action: Editor, Treasurer & General Secretary).
- 5. The issue of membership drive was also discussed and it was decided that letter may be written to all members to motivate their colleagues to register as members of the SAWR as well as contribute quality article in the JWR (**Action:** Treasurer & General Secretary).
- 6. It was also desired by the house that there is need to standardize the publishing process to make it more transparent. A need was felt to develop an article review proforma (**Action:** Drs R Sendhil and Pradeep Sharma).
- 7. The issue of fee for library subscription was also discussed and it was decided to look into the fee structure of other journals. After looking into the fee structures of various journals, it is proposed to keep the library membership fee of Rs 2000/- for Indian, \$ 100 for SAARC countries and \$ 200 for other countries institutions.
- 8. Some of the participants raised the issue of limit of words for different types of articles and after detailed discussions it was decided that the short notes limit may be raised to 2500 from 1300 words and that of research articles to 5000 from 4000 words.

- 9. Indexing, abstracting and NAAS rating of the journal was another issue raised and the President desired that this job may be given to some young scientists. She also proposed the names of Dr K Venkatesh and Dr (Mrs) Poonam Jasrotia to which all present in the meeting agreed. (Action: Dr K Venkatesh and Dr (Mrs) Poonam Jasrotia).
- 10. The house also desired that the applications for Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award may be called so that the same can be finalized and awarded in the General body Meeting of the Society scheduled for 21st August, 2015 at Dantiwada, Gujarat. It was also decided that the SAWR fellowship may be awarded during alternate years. The house also decided to issue life member and reviewer certificates as soft copies only (Action: Treasurer and General Secretary).
- 11. The present CEC has completed three years in February, 2015. Although, in the present Bye laws the term of CEC is minimum three years and maximum five years, under the new regulations the term of the CEC could not be more than three years. Hence, the elections of the new CEC is due and the house decided to initiate the election process in January, 2016 after re-registering the Society with new name, "Society for Advancement of Wheat and Barley Research" as decided in the previous General Body Meeting. The house also desired that a letter may be sent to all the SAWR members to send the agenda items for the forthcoming General Body Meeting (Action: General Secretary).
- 12. As per the "Haryana Registration and Regulation of Societies Rules 2012", the society is to be re-registered for which new Bye-laws as per the new guidelines may be prepared and sent to all the members. The same may be placed in the General Body Meeting for approval as per the "Haryana Registration and Regulation of Societies Rules 2012". (Action: General Secretary).

The proceedings are issued with the approval of the President, SAWR.

(RK Sharma) General Secretary