Proceedings of Newly Constituted CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research at DWR Karnal on March 28, 2012

The first meeting of the newly constituted CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was held at Directorate of Wheat Research, Karnal on March 28 and was attended by the following office bearer of the Society.

- 1. Dr. (Mrs.) Indu Sharma, President
- 2. Dr. KV Prabhu, Vice President
- 3. Dr. RK Gupta, Vice President
- 4. Dr. RK Sharma, General Secretary
- 5. Dr. Rajbir Yadav, Executive Editor
- 6. Dr. Gyanendra Singh, Associate Editor
- 7. Dr. (Mrs.) Sindhu Sareen, Treasurer
- 8. Dr. Ravish Chatrath, Outgoing Secretary
- 9. Dr. GP Singh, Joint Secretary
- 10. Dr. Devendra Mohan

After a brief introduction of the new CEC members, Dr. RK Sharma, Secretary welcomed the president and members of the CEC and informed about the agenda of the meeting. Dr. Ravish Chatrath, outgoing secretary informed the president about the history of the inception of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research enumerating the laws and by laws of the society. It was decided that a softcopy of the laws and by laws of the society may be provided to all the members of the executive committee. (Action: General Secretary)

Dr. RK Gupta, the outgoing Treasurer of the society, presented the financial details of the society. It was pointed out that we have very limited funds available for carrying out various activities. In response, the President emphasised the need to undertake a vigorous membership drive by the CEC of the society. It was decided that all the members of the CEC will make sincere efforts for increasing the membership of the society (**Action: All CEC members**).

Dr. (Mrs.) Indu Sharma, Project Director, DWR, Karnal and President of the society emphasised on NAAS listing of the Journal of Wheat Research. The Vice President, Dr. KV Prabhu, gave the finer details of the procedure and requirements for NAAS rating of the Journals. He informed the house that a continuous timely publication of at least four issues following uniform pattern of publication and putting the journal in the notice of all the abstracting journals like CABI etc. is the mandatory prerequisite for the allocation of the NAAS rating to the Journal of Wheat Research. He also emphasized on the need to have

collaboration with indianjournal.com for the publication of both the soft and hard copy of the journal so that the journal is put in the open access system for getting NAAS rating. Dr KV Prabhu, Vice President, Dr Rajbir Yadav, Editor and Dr GP Singh, Joint Secretary were

requested by the President to contact indianjournals.com, located in New Delhi, to decide

about the terms and conditions for the publication of online issue of the journal (Action: Dr

KV Prabhu, Dr Rajbir Yadav, and Dr GP Singh).

It was agreed that all the CEC members will make concerted efforts for obtaining at least two research papers from India and abroad to have a pool of articles for publishing next two

resourch pupers from man and across to have a poor of articles for patienting none one

issues.

The CEC discussed about journals' online publication process and its timely submission for

citation agencies for regular abstracting. All the papers must be refereed online in time bound

manner and editor will submit each article to at least two referees for improving the quality of

the publication.

It was also pointed out by the treasurer that at present sufficient funds are not available for

publication of the issues of the journal, hence, it was decided that funds will be requested

from WRTF for publication of next two issues of the journal (Action: Treasurer and

Editor)

It was also discussed in the meeting to expand the executive committee for better functioning

of the society. Accordingly, the exiting CEC agreed to nominate six persons (Drs Praveen

Chhuneja-PAU Ludhiana, SA Desai, UAS Dharwad, AK Chowdhury-UBKVV Coochbehar,

Sai Prasad-IARI Indore, AK Joshi-CIMMYT Nepal and J Rane-NIASM Baramati) to the

CEC. In addition, Drs PC Mishra (Powarkheda), IS Panwar (Hisar), NB Singh (Kanpur), YS

Paul (Palampur), DA Gadekar (Niphad), BS Tyagi, MS Saharan, Pradeep Sharma, Dinesh

Kumar and RS Chhokar from DWR, Karnal were nominated as members of the editorial

board to streamline the publication of the JWR.

The meeting ended with acknowledgment for the help and support by all the central executive

committee members.

The proceeding is issued with the approval of the President.

(DV Charma)