## Proceedings of CEC meeting of Society for Advancement of Wheat Research (SAWR) held on April 17, 2014 at DWR, Karnal

A meeting of the Executive Council of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was convened under the chairmanship of Dr Indu Sharma, President, on April 17, 2014 in VS Mathur Hall, DWR, Karnal. The following office bearers attended the meeting and shared their views to finalize the action points.

- 1. Dr (Mrs) Indu Sharma, President
- 2. Dr RK Gupta, Vice-President
- 3. Dr RK Sharma, General Secretary
- 4. Dr (Mrs) Sindhu Sareen, Treasurer
- 5. Dr Gyanendra Singh, Associate Editor
- 6. Dr Dinesh Kumar, Member, Editorial Board
- 7. Dr BS Tyagi, Member, Editorial Board
- 8. Dr RS Chhokar, Member, Editorial Board
- 9. Dr Pradeep Sharma, Member, Editorial Board
- 10. Dr R Sendhil, Member, Editorial Board

The agenda items for the meeting included i) discussion to finalise the modalities for Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award, ii) discussion to finalise the modalities for SAWR Fellowship, iii)discussion on name of the society, iv) discussion on the name of the Journal and v) any other item with the approval of the chair. The other items discussed in the meeting were timely publication of the next issue of the Journal and seeking articles from foreign authors. After detailed deliberations the following recommendations/actions emerged.

- 1. The application format for the Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award was discussed and based on inputs by email from Dr GP Singh and discussion during the meeting was finalised incorporating minor corrections. It was decided in the meeting that the final format may be sent to all the CEC members for information and be uploaded on the site after a week of issue of proceedings. (Action: General Secretary)
- 2. The issue of SAWR fellowship was discussed in details and it was unanimously decided to honour all those who became life members during the very first year *i.e.* during 2007-08, of the establishment of the society. It was decided to send emails to all the prospective fellows to submit a write up of not more than 300 words listing the achievements along with brief CV and a current photograph by 30<sup>th</sup> June 2014. However, from the next year onwards, seven (07) fellowships will be awarded each year including two (02) in the discipline of Crop Improvement and one (01) each in other disciplines i.e. Resource Management, Crop Protection, Quality and Basic Science, Social Sciences and Barley (all disciplines). (Action: General Secretary, Associate Editor and Treasurer)
- 3. The issue of name of the society invited a lot of discussion. The barley workers in the society were of the opinion, from the very beginning of the society, to include barley in the name of the society. It has also been observed during the past few years that barley researchers were reluctant to contribute good papers to the journal. After thorough discussions, it has been proposed that the name of the society may be changed to Society for Advancement of Wheat and Barley Research (SAW&BR). The change of name need to be taken up and registered with the District Registrar of the Societies. The final decision on the name change will be taken in the General Body meeting scheduled during August, 2014. (Action: General Secretary, Associate Editor and Treasurer).
- 4. The house also discussed regarding the name of the Journal and it was proposed to rename it as Journal of Wheat & Barley Research (JW&BR). The final decision on the name change will be taken in the General Body meeting scheduled during August, 2014. It was pointed out that what will happen to the ISSN number and NAAS rating? The house decided to take up this matter with concerned authorities. (Action: Drs Pradeep Sharma, R Sendhil and OP Gupta).
- 5. It was once again emphasized that each office bearer will ensure good quality research papers for coming issues of JWR especially from foreign authors in their respective field of specialization. (Action: All office bearers of SAWR).
- It was desired by the house that the next issue must be brought out on time and its publication before 7<sup>th</sup> July, 2014 and submission to NAAS must be ensured. (Action: Drs Pradeep Sharma, OP Gupta, R Sendhil and Gyanendra Singh).

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to chair and members. The proceedings are issued with the approval of President (SAWR).

X00 ams RK Sharma) Secretary