Proceedings of CEC Meeting of Society for Advancement of Wheat Research (SAWR) held on January 25, 2014 at DWR, Karnal

A meeting of the Executive Council (office bearers) of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was convened under the chairmanship of Dr Indu Sharma, President, on January 25, 2014 in VS Mathur Hall, DWR, Karnal. The following office bearers attended the meeting, shared their views and finalized action points accordingly.

- 1. Dr Indu Sharma, President
- 2. Dr RK Gupta, Vice-President
- 3. Dr RK Sharma, General Secretary
- 4. Dr GP Singh, Joint Secretary
- 5. Dr Rajbir Yadav, Executive Editor
- 6. Dr Gyanendra Singh, Associate Editor
- 7. Dr Sai Prasad, CEC Nominated member
- 8. Dr Dinesh Kumar, Editorial Board Member
- 9. Dr BS Tyagi, Editorial Board Member
- 10. Dr MS Saharan, Editorial Board Member
- 11. Dr RS Chhokar, Editorial Board Member
- 12. Dr Pradeep Sharma, Editorial Board Member

In addition, Dr OP Gupta and Dr R Sendhil were also invited to attend CEC meeting.

The agenda items for this meeting included constitution of advisory board, expanding the editorial board, deciding the membership fee for foreign members, discussion to make the JWR as open access and any other item with the approval of the chair. The other discussed in the meeting were new ideas to further strengthen the society and streamline the format and online publication system of Journal of Wheat research (JWR). After detailed deliberations the following recommendations / actions emerged.

- The tentative advisory board constitution finalised was Dr S Ayyappan, Dr RS Paroda, Dr VL Chopra, Dr S Nagarajan, Dr PL Gautam, Dr Swapan K Datta, Dr RR Hanchinal, Dr S Rajaram and Dr HS Gupta subject to acceptance of proposal. The General Secretary will send request letter to each of the proposed board member for seeking their consent. (Action: General Secretary)
- 2. The issue of expanding editorial was discussed and it was agreed to include some more members from India and abroad to the editorial board. The house proposed names of Drs E Duveiller, Ian King, Martin Broadly, RC Sharma (CIMMYT), Michelle Watt, RA Richards (CSIRO), Richard Trethovan, Karim Ammar, Harbans S Bariana, R Sendhil (DWR), Ravi P Singh (CIMMYT), Mathew Reynolds (CIMMYT), OP Gupta (DWR), RL Bowden, Peter Shewry, Parks Alistair, SC Gulati (Barley), Ashutosh Sarker (Barley), NK Singh, Rajender Parsad (Statistics), Tim L Setter (Australia), Ken Sayre, Dr Kaushik Majumdar (IPNI) and Beat Keller. The General Secretary will send request letter to each of the proposed editorial board member for seeking his/her consent. (Action: General Secretary)
- 3. The subscription for foreign members was decided by the CEC for 02 categories namely; SAARC countries (US\$ 100/-) and others (US\$ 200/-) for life membership and respectively US\$ 20 and US\$ 50 for Annual membership. The needful changes may be made accordingly. (**Action**: General Secretary, Editors and Treasurers).
- 4. The house discussed and decided to organise annual general body meeting of SAWR during annual workshop. In annual general body meeting three agenda items namely:

Presidential address, General Secretary's report and Treasurer's report will be included as a regular activity of the meeting. (**Action**: General Secretary and Treasurer).

- 5. After deliberations on the format related issues of JWR, it was agreed to keep full names of authors, order of paper according to merit and include variety/genetic stock notifications in the respective issues. In addition, it was decided to increase the abstract limitation to 250 words in place of 150 words (**Action**: Dr Pradeep Sharma, Dr OP Gupta, General Secretary and Associate Editor).
- 6. The format of papers in the JWR for future issues needs to be standardised to maintain uniformity. After thorough discussions and tentative finalisation of the format, President desired to prepare 3-4 templates to fine tune the final format at the earliest. The font of the caption on Wheat and Barley at the cover page needs to be improved for more visibility (**Action**: Dr OP Gupta, General Secretary and Associate Editor).
- 7. Dr GP Singh proposed to sponsor an award in the memory of his father late Professor Mahatim Singh and agreed to deposit one time grant of Rs. 1.0 lakh/- (Rupees one lakh) for the same. The president and CEC expressed their sincere thanks to Dr GP Singh for such an offer and having faith in the society for promoting young researchers. The CEC constituted an Award & Fellowship Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr RK Gupta with Dr GP Singh and Dr Dinesh Kumar as members and Dr RK Sharma, General Secretary to decide guidelines for award and other needful steps. (Action: Award & Fellowship Committee).
- 8. The house also discussed the issue of awarding fellowship of SAWR to its members, one each in the discipline of Crop Improvement, Crop Protection, Resource Management, Quality & Basic Sciences and Social Sciences. The above committee will also decide the guidelines for fellowship (**Action**: Award & Fellowship Committee).
- 9. It was once again emphasized that each office bearer will ensure good quality research papers for coming issues of JWR from foreign authors in their respective field of specialization. (**Action**: All office bearers of SAWR).
- 10. It was suggested that online refereeing, editing and finalizations of articles will be managed by a team consisting of Drs Pradeep Sharma, OP Gupta and R Sendhil. The team will coordinate with the Executive Editor and Associate Editor for timely printing of the coming issues of JWR. Also the issues concerning online updation of JWR on ICAR & DWR website will be managed by this team. It was also discussed to make JWR as an open access journal for which the CEC agreed and the online team will make needful changes in the system for the same. (Action: Drs Pradeep Sharma, OP Gupta and R Sendhil).

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to chair and members. The proceedings are issued with the approval of President (SAWR).

Secretary