Proceedings of Newly Constituted CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research at ICAR-IIWBR Karnal on June 14, 2016

The first meeting of the newly constituted CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was held at ICAR-Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research, Karnal on June 14, 2016. The meeting was attended by the following office bearer of the Society:

- 1. Dr R K Gupta, President
- 2. Dr. (Mrs.) Indu Sharma, Outgoing President
- 3. Dr. (Mrs.) Sindhu Sareen, General Secretary
- 4. Dr Anil Khippal, Joint Secretary
- 5. Dr H R Saharan, Councillor, NWPZ
- 6. Dr. Pradeep Sharma, Editor- in -chief
- 7. Dr.Poonam Jasrotia, Treasurer
- 8. Dr Sonia Sheoran, Joint Treasurer
- 9. Dr. RK Sharma, Outgoing Secretary
- 10. Dr. Gyanendra Singh, Outgoing Associate Editor

Dr Sindhu Sareen, General Secretary of the Society welcomed the President and other members of newly constituted and outgoing CEC of the society and briefed about the agenda of the meeting. She also informed that the members from outside could not attend the meeting due to their prior engagements.

Dr R K Sharma, the outgoing General Secretary gave the progress report of his tenure and told that with the efforts of CEC members he could retrieve the society from the junk yard to moving stage. It was a big achievement to secure a NAAS rating of 3.11 in a shot span of less than three years. He wished new CEC all success to get revised NAAS rating of 5.0 for the journal. He also assured his full support to new CEC and society for its upliftment.

Dr Sindhu Sareen, the outgoing treasurer presented the financial report stating that from almost negligible funds in 2012 when the journal was printed from borrowed money now the society is self sufficient to get the issue printed. During this period, all the members were given membership number. Though the number of members is more than double that of 2012, still the President emphasized for membership drive not only in ICAR and SAUs but other universities/colleges/companies with R&D wing should also be approached (*Action: all CEC members*).

Dr Hari Ram, Councillor, NWPZ suggested that the citation of articles should be increased and there should be sub-headings in the table of contents of the journal.

Dr Indu Sharma, the outgoing President of the Society emphasized that the standard of the journal should be improved by publication of the journal in time with good quality of papers. In every issue there should be papers from outside the country and for this project collaborators as well as researchers of Indian origin should be approached. She also emphasized that the advisory board should be revisited and before final printing the papers should be sent to the members of advisory board for comments.

Dr R K Gupta, President of the society emphasized that printing of journal in time, upgrading NAAS rating, improving the financial health of the society and increasing the number of

members are some of the top most priorities for the new CEC. The committee agreed to following points:

The next issue of the journal must be printed in time i.e June 30 and it will include the names of outgoing CEC (*Action: Secretary, Editor-in Chief*)

For revision of NAAS rating, a committee was constituted so that the proforma is prepared and submitted to NAAS before June 30 (*Committee members*)

The re-registration of the society and its name change, which was delayed due to non-functioning of the website, should be taken up on priority (Action: Outgoing and new Secretary)

The CEC nominated six section editors for timely publication of the journal. These were:

Crop Improvement: Dr Chuni Lal and Dr Satish

Crop Protection: Dr M S Saharan

Resource management: Dr R S Chhokar

Quality: Dr Dinesh

Social Science: Dr Sendhil

For new Advisory Board and Consulting Editors Overseas, names should be invited from all CEC members (*Action: Secretary*)

A letter should be sent to all zonal councillors defining their role in society activities. A copy of bye laws of the society should be sent to CEC members to understand the society activities and their role (*Action: Secretary*).

In order to increase the members of the society, besides wheat and barley workers in ICAR institutes and SAUs, those working in traditional universities, colleges and companies with R&D wing in wheat/ barley should also be approached. (*Action: Treasurer, Zonal Councillors*)

Call for Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award, M V Rao Memorial Award and SAWR membership should be given in time and process completed before General Body Meeting during workshop (*Action: Secretary*).

Database of society members should be updated and it should be available on website (Action: Treasurer)

The information on the webpage should be updated (Action: Dr Sendhil) and new website for the society should be developed (Action: Secretary, Treasurer and Dr Sendhil).

The meeting ended with thanks to all the members present and also to outgoing CEC for excellent work.

The proceeding is issued with the approval of President.

(General Secretary)