Proceedings of CEC meeting of SAWBAR at ICAR-IIWBR Karnal on April 20, 2017

A meeting of the CEC of the Society for Advancement of Wheat and Barley Research was convened on April 20, 2017 at 11.30AM in VS Mathur Hall, IIWBR, Karnal to discuss following agenda items:

- 1. Finalization of schedule of awards given by the society
- 2. Finalization of guidelines for Dr S Nagarajan Memorial Award and other awards
- 3. Contribution of AICRP scientists for Dr S Nagarajan Memorial Award
- 4. Status of upcoming issue of the journal
- 5. Suggestions for quality papers for JWR
- 6. Membership and Advertisement drive
- 7. Any other agenda item with the permission of the chair

The meeting was chaired by Dr R K Gupta, President of the society. The meeting was attended by the following office bearer of the Society:

- 1. Dr R K Gupta, President
- 2. Dr G P Singh, Vice President
- 3. Dr. (Mrs.) Sindhu Sareen, General Secretary
- 4. Dr Anil Khippal, Joint Secretary
- 5. Dr. Pradeep Sharma, Editor- in -chief
- 6. Dr Sonia Sheoran, Joint Treasurer
- 7. Dr M S Saharan, Editor (CP)
- 8. Dr Satish, Section Editor (CI)
- 9. Dr Chunni Lal, Section Editor (CI)
- 10. Dr R Sendhil, Section Editor (SS)
- 11. Dr Venkatesh, (Abstracting and Indexing of JWR)
- 12. Dr R K Sharma (Special Invitee)
- 13. Dr Gyanendra Singh (Representative WRTF)

After detailed deliberations the following recommendations/actions emerged.

- 1. All the awards i.e Prof Mahatim Singh Memorial Award, Dr M V Rao Memorial Award, Dr S Nagarajan memorial Award will be given every year. The seed money for all the awards should be pooled and award money of each award will be Rs 10000 (Rupees Ten thousand only).
- 2. Committee constituted to finalize the guidelines and proforma for all the awards and Fellow.
- 3. Six SAWBAR Fellow will be awarded each year; two in Crop Improvement and one each in Crop Protection, Quality and Basic Sciences, Resource Management and Social sciences.
- 4. Anouncement for awards and Fellow will be made by May 15 each year. Last date of receiving applications will be June 30. Screening process completed by July 31 and intimation to awardees by August 10.
- 5. IIWBR Scientists who have not contributed for Dr S Nagarajan memorial Award may be asked once again to contribute for the same.
- 6. All AICRP (Wheat and Barley) scientists may also be asked to contribute for Dr S Nagarajan memorial Award. The minimum contribution should be Rs 2000.
- 7. Journal cover should be redesigned. Committee may be constituted for the same.
- 8. As decided in previous meeting only soft copy of the journal will be provided to all the members and minimum number of copies will be printed to save expenditure.
- 9. Library subscription of the journal will be Rs 2000 and letter should be written to all libraries to subscribe for the journal.

The proceeding is issued with the approval of President.

(General Secretary)