Proceedings of 3rd General Body meeting of SAWR held at CCSHAU, Hisar on August 21, 2016

Third General Body meeting of the Society for Advancement of Wheat Research was convened on August 21, 2016 at 17.00 hours in College of Agriculture Auditorium, CCSHAU, Hisar as per the agenda listed below:

Welcome and Secretary's Report Sindhu Sareen Treasurer's Report Poonam Jasrotia Editor's Report Satish Kumar Presentation of Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award-2015 & 2016 GP Singh Presentation of Padma Shri Prof M V Rao Memorial Award for MS Rao & Sai Distinguished Scientist -2016 Prasad Presentation of Certificates of SAWR Fellows-2016 **RK** Gupta Open House Discussion Sindhu Sareen Presidential Address **RK** Gupta Comments of the Director GP Singh Vote of Thanks SC Bhardwai

Dr Sindhu Sareen, General Secretary of the Society welcomed the delegates to 3rd General Body meeting and presented the report for the year 2015-16. She informed the house that the society has published both the issues of the Journal of Wheat Research and submitted to NAAS timely. This was possible with the cooperation from SAWR members and reviewers. During the year society also organized one day Interactive Workshop on Karnal Bunt Free Wheat Production-Issues and Way Forward at IIWBR, Karnal which was attended by 40 participants. She further informed the house that the membership of the society this year has increased from 221 (184 life members, 30 annual members and 7 student members) to 242 (193 life members, 41 annual members and 8 student members). Dr Sareen informed the house that ICAR had approved grant of Rs 1 lakh to publish JWR. An amount of Rs 75000 was released on March 22, 2016 when the election process was underway and therefore same could not be utilized.

In addition to Prof Mahatim Singh Memorial Award sponsored by Dr GP Singh, Director, IIWBR, Karnal in the memory of his father, another one Padam Shri Prof. M V Rao Memorial award for Distinguished scientist was initiated from this year. It is sponsored by Sri M Srinivas Rao, Trustee, M.V.Rao Foundation for Agriculture and Development, Hyderabad; Dr SV Sai Prasad, ICAR-IARI RS Indore; M/S Syngenta India Limited, Indore, Shri Manmohan Dhoot, Kanood and M/S Vasundhara Seeds, Ujjain in the honour of Padma Shri Prof. M.V Rao.

In order to comply with the new society registration rules in Haryana, the process for reregistration of the society was initiated in 2014 but because of teething problems of new online submission mode, the application was finally submitted on June 27, 2016 and shortly new registration number will be allotted.

The process to elect new CEC as per approved bye-laws was completed successfully and new CEC took the charge in June 2016. She informed the house that the previous CEC did a commendable job and set high standards for new CEC, for which she seeked cooperation and suggestions from all members. She also informed that new CEC took over with great

zeal and strength by publishing the next issue of JWR in time, submitting the application for revision in NAAS rating of the journal and for ICAR funding in time.

Treasurers' Report was presented by Dr Poonam Jasrotia. She informed that during 2015-16, the opening balance was Rs 374605.05 in SAWR account, Rs 5096 in Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award Account and Rs 90000 as FDR. Rs 83053 were added as membership fees, Rs 30000 as advertisement fees and Rs 27118 from miscellaneous sources. Mr M S Rao, Dr Sai Prasad, M/S Syngenta India Limited, Indore, Shri Manmohan Dhoot, Kanood and M/S Vasundhara Seeds, Ujjain jointly contributed Rs 100000 for award money. ICAR released Rs 75000 as journal printing grant. The total receipts during the year were Rs 694873. Of this Rs 77885 were spent on publication of two issues of JWR, Rs 13150 as meeting charges, Rs 3000 as auditor fees and Rs 4630.7 for stationery and refreshment etc. The balance available to society on 31.03.2016 was Rs 596207 in SAWR account, Rs 13878 in Prof. Mahatim Singh Memorial Award Account and Rs 90000 as FDR.

The next agenda item was presentation of awards. Dr G P Singh presented the Prof Mahatim Singh Memorial Award for 2015 to Dr M L Jat and for 2016 to Dr Vishnu Kumar. Mr M S Rao and Dr Sai Prasad presented the first Padam Shri Dr M V Rao Memorial Award for Distinguished Scientist 2016 to Dr R K Sharma. Mr Rao also showed videos prepared on the life and achievements of Dr M V Rao, a key architect of the Green Revolution and a doyen of Indian agriculture. Dr R K Gupta, President, SAWR conferred the SAWR Fellow Award for the year 2016 to Dr Dharam Pal and Dr S A Desai for wheat improvement.

In the open house discussion, Dr R P S Verma enquired about the status of the change in the name of the society and journal, to which Dr Sareen replied that as soon as new registration number is allotted, application for change in the name of the society will be submitted.

Dr R K Gupta while delivering the Presidential address thanked the SAWR family for the support during the year and called upon all, to proactively contribute and attend to all the correspondence made by the Secretary's office to make the society stronger. He retreated that the CEC in the past took great efforts to establish the society and increase its horizon of visibility. He called upon all the members to contribute quality articles as well as motivate fellow scientists to enrol as members of the society.

Dr G P Singh, Director IIWBR and vice-president of the society emphasized that the backbone of the society is its members and journal. Since society is now supporting two awards, its membership area should increase and new members should join. He also requested all the members to contribute good papers, if not the best although he assured that JWR rating will be revised w.e.f. Jan 2017 for which application has been submitted.

The meeting ended with the vote of thanks by Dr S C Bhardwaj, Vice President of the society. He expressed thanks to Dr B Mishra, Founder-President of SAWR, who brought together wheat and barley family. He thanked Dr R K Gupta, President, SAWR and Dr G P Singh, Director IIWBR for their encouraging words. He also thanked the screening committee members for selecting the right person for the awards and also the society members for the cooperation and office bearers for the good work done over the past year.

The proceedings are issued with the approval of the President, SAWR.

General Secretary